My little Wimbledon Adventure – Day IV

On the fourth day of Wimby my mojo gave to me, Angie Kerber on Court 18.
The German was originally scheduled last on Court 2 a day before but the match was postponed due to darkness. Court 2 is one of the bigger show courts and I didn’t have a ticket for it, so I wouldn’t have been able to see Angelique Kerber, but Court 18 has unreserved seats only, so we went there immediately and got front row seats for Angie’s ‘battle of the lefties’ against Ekaterina Makarova.
Galina Voskoboeva vs. Yanina Wickmayer
Also in action on that day: Julia Görges, another German. Or should I say Jule ‘Stands With a Fist’ Gorgeous? Ah, better not! Drill instuctor, I mean, German Fed Cup captain Barbara ‘Terminator’ Rittner is watching. Yes, ma’am.

There is nothing better at the end of a long hard tennis day than watching some doubles matches.
Sam Stosur/Casey Dellacqua vs. Sorana Cirstea/Ayumi Morita
Dominica Cibulkova and Daniela Hantuchova. Watching their match I didn’t move my head left-right-left-right but up-down-up-down.
The match was also funny because Angelique Kerber and Mona Barthel on the other side of the net were losing badly. Angie hiding, Mona laughing. They are down 0-6 0-5. So much love.
Much to the embarrassment of my British companion of that day (the Brits are more into polite hand clapping, you see) I started shouting words of encouragement again. “Auf geht’s, Mädels! Ein Spiel schafft ihr!” (C’mon, girls. You can get one game!) Again my mojo worked. They ‘only” lost 0-6 1-6 and avoided the dreaded and shameful double-bagel.

Heather Watson/Laura Robson vs. Su-Wei Hsieh/Sabine Lisicki

Guess, who was winning. Oh, and did I mention doubles was fun?
And then this happened:
Sabine, quick! Your grass allergy!

Kader Nouni checking on Lisicki from the other court. She was fine.

There are doubles pairings which are, to say the least, surprising. I did not see Hsieh/Lisicki coming, but Arantxa Rus and Eleni Daniilidou? Seriously? This doubles match was so much fun to watch, that I even captioned their change-over conversation.

“Eleni, I heard that Angela Merkel wants to buy Crete.” “What?! I’m from Crete! That’s my island.”

“Just kidding, Eleni! I’m trying to cheer you up.”

“Aww, that was mean but I forgive you.”

“But seriously, Greece must be a bargain now. Even I could afford an island.” “Yeah, right.”

Now, go back and watch the umbrella boy’s face again. Then you will understand that they actually did not talk about politics (I made that up) but shoes.

Still talking shoes.

On the other side of the net: Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina

“Oh, you bad, bad racquet.”

Last match of the day. Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova vs. Varvara Lepchenko

Leave a Reply

